To support young people into work, the Queensland Government offers free training in high priority areas.

From 1 January 2021, Free TAFE for under 25s will be available to eligible Queenslanders in 26 priority certificate III qualifications available at TAFE Queensland and Central Queensland University only.

This program is an extension to the former Free tafe for Year 12 graduates program to young people aged 25 years and under.

Participant eligibility

To be eligible, you must:

  • be aged under 25 years at the point of enrolment and not be at school
  • permanently reside in Queensland
  • be an Australian citizen, Australian permanent resident (includes humanitarian entrant), temporary resident with the necessary visa and work permits on the pathway to permanent residency, or a New Zealand citizen
  • not hold, and not be enrolled in, a certificate III or higher-level qualification, not including qualifications completed at school and foundation skills training.

Individuals who hold a visa must also ensure their visa subclass is eligible for subsidised training.

More information

Read about Free TAFE for under 25s (student information).

For further information contact us on 1300 369 935.

Last updated 1 January 2021

Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Australia (CC BY 3.0)